Rusty's Fiction

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Rusty's Fiction

Post by rusty-spring on Wed 8 Jul 2009 - 20:01

So this is my first attempt at a "serious" fiction involving my OC. It'd consider it more easy reading than heavy drama, but hopefully it's still somewhat enjoyable to read. I'm posting it up on the forum first as a trial run, before I go as so far as to try posting on FF.net. So we'll see how it goes. I'll probably post in chapters, as it allows me to make edits so I don't have to do them later. Razz

Oh yeah, might help to name the title. In classic summer blockbuster horrible movie titles - "Sand Dollars"

An (Un)Ordinary Morning

“Dammit, where is she?”

Clayland Stanaway, the British-born American, walked through the Social Welfare Agency compound and searched every possible area he could think of looking.

So far he had checked the lounge, the kitchen, the gym pool, the parking lot, Petra's room, Olga's office, and even Priscilla's hidden booze closet. Still no sign of her at all. For a minute he wondered if she had tried to sneak off in his Range Rover again, and actually looked outside a window to make sure it was still in it's parking space.

Good.

He didn't want to be reminded of that fateful Saturday afternoon during last year's summer season. Too many embarrassing memories. Impatient and unfazed, Clayland continued his search for the wayward blonde. After another 20 minutes he finally resigned and gave up looking, plopping down in a leather recliner in the lounge. He let himself slouch deeply into the chair and close his eyes. The SWA was bigger than it looked and he was tired from crossing the grounds repeatedly – especially while carrying two heavy cases. Clayland was just about to nod off before he felt a tap on his shoulder.

“Mr. Stanaway, I'm surprised to see you here.”