Top 10 Animu OP/ED in your opinion

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Top 10 Animu OP/ED in your opinion

Post by Nuke is Good on Tue 28 Jul 2009 - 13:19

While driving I was listening to music as usual so it gave me the idea to post this.

These are in no order.

OP
1. Lion- Macross Frontier. Just love the song period, fits the mood of the 2nd half of Frontier.
2. Soramimi Keeki- Azumanga Daioh. What can I say? Its Azumanga Daioh
3. Motteke Sailor Fuku- Lucky Star. This song makes me laugh when I listen to it, also a pain in the ass for me to translate
4. Ai wo Torimodose- Hokuto no Ken. You ha SHOCK manly song right here.
5. Suki Mami Mai Tai- Mezzo DSA. Good song for fast paced mayhem.
6. Light Before We Land- Gunslinger Girl S1. I like The Delgados, however the pompous indy bastards at last.fm think I only like the band due to the OP
7. Around the World- Initial D First Stage. Song started me out on Initial D, makes for good cruising music.
8. Moonlight Densetsu- Sailor Moon (Both the DiC Version and the Original Japanese)
9. Crystal Energy- Mai Otome. Shit just got serious yo.
10. Tough Boy- Hokuto no Ken 2

Honorable Mentions:
Rhythm Emotion and Just Communication- Gundam Wing. When I was a kid I saw the toonami version so I never grew up watching the awesome OPs.
Alsatia- Mnemosyne. This anime shows up later in the list
Silent Survivor- Hokuto no Ken. The OPs from this anime are just awesome
Dogfight- Initial D Fourth Stage. Initial D has stronger insert songs in my opinion.
Dynamite Explosion- Macross Dynamite 7. It's Macross, its music is always good.

ED

1. Hare Hare Yukai- Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuuutsu. I admit I love the song.
2. Diamond Crevasse- Macross Frontier. When used as an insert towards the end of the series, it made for a very epic scene.
3. Cause Disarray- Mnemosyne. Badass ending.
4. Otome wa Do my best Deshou- Mai Otome.
5. Yuria...Eien ni- Hokuto no Ken. Manly ending
6. Real Folk Blues- Cowboy Bebop. Do I need to say more on this? See you Space Cowboy was also a good take on the song.
7. Rage my Dream- Initial D. Good as an ED, awesome as an insert.
8. Voices- Macross Plus. First word in my dreams: Awesome
9. Calling- You're Under Arrest! The Movie. Such a great song too bad NITRO wasn't a real group from what I can tell
10. Dopo Il Sogno- Gunslinger Girl. Good enough to be a Hollywood movie ending song

Honorable Mentions
Kiseki no Hana- Initial D. Solid song
Sora o Miagete- You're Under Arrest! My favorite ED in the series.
Kanashimi no Mukou he- School Days. Nice boat

Post yours away and be shocked by each other's tastes.
avatar
Nuke is Good

Male

Forum Posts : 326

Location : New Jersey

Fan of : Henrietta

Original Characters : Rc v1

Registration date : 2008-04-10

Back to top Go down

Re: Top 10 Animu OP/ED in your opinion

Post by Kiskaloo on Tue 28 Jul 2009 - 13:42

I've been watching anime for close to three decades, so to come up with a "definitive" list is pretty difficult, if not downright impossible.

Arguably two of my favorite songs of all time are "Do You Remember Love?" from Macross: DYRL and Shoujo Jidai from YAWARA!.


Last edited by Kiskaloo on Wed 29 Jul 2009 - 9:01; edited 1 time in total

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


What? I like donuts! - Betty Suarez
If I die before my time, go on Oprah and tell the world 'I liked kittens'. - Veronica Mars
Scissors of victory! - Yui Hirasawa
avatar
Kiskaloo
A Cat of Many Talents

Male

Forum Posts : 10901

Location : Seattle / Tokyo / Milan

Fan of : Angelica's Smile

Original Characters : Kara Michelle

Comments : The community's international man of mystery.

Registration date : 2008-09-11

Back to top Go down

Re: Top 10 Animu OP/ED in your opinion

Post by Nachtsider on Tue 28 Jul 2009 - 13:58

Favorite OPs

Saber Marionette - Successful Mission
Ruroni Kenshin - 1/2
Shamanic Princess - Inori no Asa
Slayers Great - Gloria
Vandread - Trust
Coyote Ragtime Show - Coyote
Cardcaptor Sakura - Tobira wo Akete
Jinki: Extend - Fly Away
El-Hazard: The Wanderers - Illusion
Lost Universe - Infinity

Favorite EDs

Saber Marionette - I'll Be There
Ruroni Kenshin - 1/3 no Jujou Nakanjou
Slayers Perfect - Midnight Blue
Vandread - Himegoto
Cardcaptor Sakura - Groovy!
Wedding Peach - Juliet of the 21st Century
Hellsing - Shine
Cyborg Kuro Chan - Positive Vibration
Slayers Special - Unlimited Desire
Le Portrait de Petite Cossette - Jewel

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------





There may be no peace for the wicked, but the righteous can damn well get a piece whenever they feel like it.
avatar
Nachtsider
KNIGHT OF THE LIVING DEAD
KNIGHT OF THE LIVING DEAD

Male

Forum Posts : 5718

Location : Inside your closet. In your head.

Fan of : Gunslinger Girl, Transformers: Animated

Original Characters : Liesel/Altheus, Meir/Kathryn, Aharon/Nadia, Cosette/Janus

Comments : The Living Legend. Master of Darkness. Trailblazer par excellence. Fear him.

Registration date : 2007-09-09

Back to top Go down

Re: Top 10 Animu OP/ED in your opinion

Post by tsundere9kagami2 on Tue 28 Jul 2009 - 14:42

Cardcaptor and rurouni kenshin FTW

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


I'm actually a hardcore otaku who likes maids more than having three meals in a day and I only read books related to maids. Also, I only visit maid cafes. Of course I also collect maid figurines, I play games which feature maids and it turns me on so much that I'll wear the maid uniforms and jump in joy.
avatar
tsundere9kagami2
Oceanic Drifting

Male

Forum Posts : 1069

Fan of : Moe~

Original Characters : youru kun

Registration date : 2008-07-12

Back to top Go down

Re: Top 10 Animu OP/ED in your opinion

Post by LoC978 on Tue 28 Jul 2009 - 14:57

I'll bite. I'm sure as hell not goin' outside more than I absolutely have to today.

now, for my lists... I refuse to rank them, but... here are the anime openings/endings that I actually like (I actually dislike a vast majority of JPop/JRock I've heard):

OP:
*Gunslinger Girl. of course. This is the second thing that drew me to the series.
*Cowboy Bebop. jazz. real jazz, not like that Kenny G. shite. fuckin' A.
*Death Note OP2... simple thrash metal, not not long enough to get annoying with its repetition.
*Eden of the East. Slow and sweeping, kinda catchy. Like most Oasis songs.
*Ergo Proxy. a little sleepy, but not bad.
*Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex. Yoko Kanno is sometimes a shining beacon of complexity in an otherwise bland genre.
*Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex: 2nd Gig. different composer, but at least they didn't settle for crap.
*Legend of Black Heaven... helluva job making some good ol' rock'n roll.

...I tried to find 10, I really did. even looked up some of your guys' favorites that I hadn't seen... but alas, it was not to be.

ED:
*Cowboy Bebop. Ordinarily vocals like this turn me off of a song, but somehow they mixed it well enough with the instrumentals that I didn't mind.
*Death Note ED2. simplistic again, but not a bad job of makin' some screamo.
*Ergo Proxy... using a short clip from a 6-and-a-half-minute song is kinda lazy, but hey- I still love that song.
*Kino's Journey. Hard to describe why, but I like it.
*Le Chevalier D'Eon. this one's carried by the singer's voice. girl's got talent.
*Noir. Another inexplicable one. Ordinarily I dislike this sort of song. Puzzled
*Samurai Champloo. Just like Cowboy Bebop before it (my reason for liking it, that is), but with a different style.
*Wolf's Rain... what can I say? it's a beautiful song.

I guess I'll just call these my 'top 8'. Took me forever to make...
Now, if I listed the ones that I simply don't dislike terribly, and thus don't necessarily skip every time... I'd be up in the multiples of 10.


Last edited by LoC978 on Tue 28 Jul 2009 - 15:03; edited 2 times in total (Reason for editing : 'cause I forgot to comment on a few things...)

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Moderatio est figmentum.
avatar
LoC978
Beach Bum Revolutionary

Male

Forum Posts : 2628

Location : Northwestern USA. Usually Portland.

Fan of : At home- Claes. Abroad- Rico.

Registration date : 2007-09-10

Back to top Go down

Re: Top 10 Animu OP/ED in your opinion

Post by tsundere9kagami2 on Tue 28 Jul 2009 - 15:01

YES! friggin links

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


I'm actually a hardcore otaku who likes maids more than having three meals in a day and I only read books related to maids. Also, I only visit maid cafes. Of course I also collect maid figurines, I play games which feature maids and it turns me on so much that I'll wear the maid uniforms and jump in joy.
avatar
tsundere9kagami2
Oceanic Drifting

Male

Forum Posts : 1069

Fan of : Moe~

Original Characters : youru kun

Registration date : 2008-07-12

Back to top Go down

Re: Top 10 Animu OP/ED in your opinion

Post by tsundere9kagami2 on Tue 28 Jul 2009 - 15:14


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


I'm actually a hardcore otaku who likes maids more than having three meals in a day and I only read books related to maids. Also, I only visit maid cafes. Of course I also collect maid figurines, I play games which feature maids and it turns me on so much that I'll wear the maid uniforms and jump in joy.
avatar
tsundere9kagami2
Oceanic Drifting

Male

Forum Posts : 1069

Fan of : Moe~

Original Characters : youru kun

Registration date : 2008-07-12

Back to top Go down

Re: Top 10 Animu OP/ED in your opinion

Post by Totoum on Tue 28 Jul 2009 - 16:27

LoC pretty much listed all the ones I was thinking of

I'd just like to say that the OP of cowboy bebop is even more amazing live
some other stuff:
An ED that's a bit weird but that I really like is the one from azumanga daioh
a couple of other EDs that might not be really known but that i like are the ones from
acquarion and sketchbook which are from the same singer.
this is my favorite naruto OP

Can't really say anything about old school animes since i watched those dubbed in french and they had original french songs as OPs

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


"The day the child realizes that all adults are imperfect he becomes an adolescent; the day he forgives them, he becomes an adult; the day he forgives himself, he becomes wise."Alden Nowlan
"Happy is the one who's able to laugh at himself:he's sure to be entertained for a long time"

avatar
Totoum

Male

Forum Posts : 480

Location : paris

Fan of : claes

Registration date : 2007-11-20

Back to top Go down

Re: Top 10 Animu OP/ED in your opinion

Post by LoC978 on Tue 28 Jul 2009 - 16:39

@Totoum wrote:I'd just like to say that the OP of cowboy bebop is even more amazing live
whoa, never heard it like that...
gotta agree with this commenter:
Twerty222 wrote:That saxophonist must be on some amazing crack, that was ungodly. o-o

...that acquarion ED is kinda hypnotic. not bad... and the Naruto one surprised me with its intrumental complexity. Mix down the vocals and I probably wouldn't mind it Wink

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Moderatio est figmentum.
avatar
LoC978
Beach Bum Revolutionary

Male

Forum Posts : 2628

Location : Northwestern USA. Usually Portland.

Fan of : At home- Claes. Abroad- Rico.

Registration date : 2007-09-10

Back to top Go down

Re: Top 10 Animu OP/ED in your opinion

Post by Totoum on Tue 28 Jul 2009 - 17:48

@LoC978 wrote:Mix down the vocals and I probably wouldn't mind it Wink

I see where you're coming from Smile

The ED of the movie "5cm per second" is like the most depressing song ever but still good:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I0Z3Y60peR0

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


"The day the child realizes that all adults are imperfect he becomes an adolescent; the day he forgives them, he becomes an adult; the day he forgives himself, he becomes wise."Alden Nowlan
"Happy is the one who's able to laugh at himself:he's sure to be entertained for a long time"

avatar
Totoum

Male

Forum Posts : 480

Location : paris

Fan of : claes

Registration date : 2007-11-20

Back to top Go down

Re: Top 10 Animu OP/ED in your opinion

Post by Triela on Tue 28 Jul 2009 - 17:54

OP
1. Gunslinger Girl- Light Before We Land (duh)
2. Elfen Lied- Lilium
3. FullMetal Alchemist- Melissa
4. Solty Rei- Clover
5. FullMetal Alchemist- Ready Steady Go
6. The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumia- Hare Hare Yukai (Hate the anime, love the song...)
7. Yu-Gi-Oh- Voice
8. Yu Yu Hakusho- Smile Bomb
9. Fruits Basket- Opening (Idk the name...)
10. Lucky Star- Opening... not sure of the name... (Again, hate the anime, love the song.)

Endings aren't my favorite thing in the world. i don't like them most of the time...

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


  AWWWWW YEAHHHH
avatar
Triela
Super Special Awesome Cyborg Assassin

Female

Forum Posts : 2723

Location : In Steve's arms >:3

Fan of : Triela

Original Characters : Savyna

Comments : A pleasant, bubbly young lady, talented artist and Orlando Bloom fan extraordinaire.

Registration date : 2007-12-15

Back to top Go down

Re: Top 10 Animu OP/ED in your opinion

Post by hydra282 on Tue 28 Jul 2009 - 18:25

Well I like the School Rumble OPs and EDs, along with Tsubasa's Blaze and some others that I'm too lazy to write.
avatar
hydra282
Flower Spirit

Male

Forum Posts : 358

Fan of : Henrietta! Beatrice! Elsa!

Original Characters : Zaron + Josie +

Registration date : 2009-05-22

Back to top Go down

Re: Top 10 Animu OP/ED in your opinion

Post by tsundere9kagami2 on Tue 28 Jul 2009 - 18:33

Ack i forgot sketchbook! i liked the ed and op and sousei no aquarion was friggin awesome Orgasm inducing ROBOTS!!

Omna magi IMO not one of makino yuis best songs

Aria OP

ARIA ed

Sketchbook Full Color S op

Sketchbook Full Color S

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


I'm actually a hardcore otaku who likes maids more than having three meals in a day and I only read books related to maids. Also, I only visit maid cafes. Of course I also collect maid figurines, I play games which feature maids and it turns me on so much that I'll wear the maid uniforms and jump in joy.
avatar
tsundere9kagami2
Oceanic Drifting

Male

Forum Posts : 1069

Fan of : Moe~

Original Characters : youru kun

Registration date : 2008-07-12

Back to top Go down

Re: Top 10 Animu OP/ED in your opinion

Post by Nuke is Good on Wed 29 Jul 2009 - 0:13

@Kiskaloo wrote:I've been watching anime for close to three decades, so to come up with a "definitive" list is pretty difficult, if not downright impossible.

Arguably two of my favorite songs of all time are "Do You Remember Love?" from Macross: DYRL and Shoujo Jidai from YAWARA!.

Do You Remember Love is one the best songs I've heard. Its an insert so I couldn't rank it. Nice to see another fan of Macross. You didn't like Mou Ichidou Love You?
avatar
Nuke is Good

Male

Forum Posts : 326

Location : New Jersey

Fan of : Henrietta

Original Characters : Rc v1

Registration date : 2008-04-10

Back to top Go down

Re: Top 10 Animu OP/ED in your opinion

Post by sasahara17 on Wed 29 Jul 2009 - 6:30

Favorite OPs
#1 Yakusoku Wa Iranai, Maaya Sakamoto
#2 Disillusion, Sachi Tainaka
#3 Lion, May'n & Megumi Nakajima
#4 Kiseki no Umi, Maaya Sakamoto
#5 Sore ga Ai Deshou, Mikuni Shimokawa
#6 Sousei no Aquarion, AKINO
#7 You Raise Me Up, Secret garden/Lena Park
#8 Sorairo Days, Shoko Nakagawa
#9 Karma, Bump of Chicken
#10 Stray, Steve Conte

Favorite EDs
#1 Fuhen, Rin (!)
#2 Hare Hare Yukai, SOS-dan
#3 Ashita no te, Mamiko Noto
#4 The Real Folk Blues, Mai Yamane
#5 Minna no Peace, Afromania
#6 Negai no Toki, Mikako Takahashi
#7 Naked Flower, Romi Paku
#8 Loop, Maaya Sakamoto
#9 Ima, Egao ga Areba (also counts as an OP), Nogawa Sakura
#10 Houki Boshi, Younha

Favorite Inserts
#1 Ai Oboete Imasuka (in all it's forms), Various VAs
#2 Der Mond Das Meer (Sara Ver.), Kana Ueda
#3 Voices, Akino Arai
#4 Aimo, Megumi Nakajima
#5 Niji no Kanata, Yukino Satsuki
#6 Try Again, FIRE BOMBER
#7 happily ever after, Shoko Nakagawa
#8 God knows, ENOZ
#9 Top wo Nerae! ~Fly Away~, I have no idea...
#10 Sound Life, Tsuneo Imahori

... DYRL is a classic. I confess, I didn't really like the GSG OPs or EDs enough for them to make the list.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Who is that hot glasses wearing babe I wonder...
avatar
sasahara17

Male

Forum Posts : 1001

Fan of : GSGs? Claes-sama and Elsa-chan. Outside that? Bloodhound Jr. and Saber

Original Characters : Wilfred Sheppard, I-CARE agent.

Comments : A walking idea powerhouse.

Registration date : 2007-11-09

Back to top Go down

Re: Top 10 Animu OP/ED in your opinion

Post by tsundere9kagami2 on Wed 29 Jul 2009 - 8:28

DMC....lawl some of that guys gentle songs may have actually sounded good

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


I'm actually a hardcore otaku who likes maids more than having three meals in a day and I only read books related to maids. Also, I only visit maid cafes. Of course I also collect maid figurines, I play games which feature maids and it turns me on so much that I'll wear the maid uniforms and jump in joy.
avatar
tsundere9kagami2
Oceanic Drifting

Male

Forum Posts : 1069

Fan of : Moe~

Original Characters : youru kun

Registration date : 2008-07-12

Back to top Go down

Re: Top 10 Animu OP/ED in your opinion

Post by Ggultra2764 on Wed 29 Jul 2009 - 9:19


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


"Ladies and Gentlemen! You've read about it in the papers! Now witness, before your very eyes, that most rare and tragic of nature's mistakes! I give you: the average man."
-Joker "Batman: The Killing Joke"
If the SWA told Sandro to go fuck a chicken, he would.
-Elfen in Chatbox (3/28/09)
avatar
Ggultra2764

Male

Forum Posts : 590

Location : New York state, USA.

Fan of : Triela

Original Characters : n/a

Comments : To those who don't know me, I've been a Cyborg Central member since 2008 and used to assist in scanlating chapters for the Gunslinger Girl manga when it was still being published in Japan. Now, I just tend to drift around in here now and then depending on whatever random impulse implores me to float back in here. Maybe I'll stick around, maybe I won't. Depends on what real life and the Internet implore me to do.

Registration date : 2008-08-01

Back to top Go down

Re: Top 10 Animu OP/ED in your opinion

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum