FN PS90 Photo Review (Pic Heavy)

View previous topic View next topic Go down

FN PS90 Photo Review (Pic Heavy)

Post by Darkstar117 on Fri 24 Sep 2010 - 14:35

Here's some pics of my PS90 USG. It has about 1200 rounds through it so far. I bought it shortly after watching the 1st season back in early 2006, which is why it doesn't have the black stock (as those were not being produced/shipped at the time from FNH-USA).

This is as close as you can get to Henrietta's primary without spending quite a bit of money and time ($200 tax stamp for ATF Form 1 SBR, FBI background check, waiting on said background check to be completed, parts (10" barrel, nut, flash hider, tools), finding a shop to replace the barrel with a 10" one, engraving the lower, legal fees, LEO sign-off, ect...).

Right Side View


Left Side View


Left Side Reciever Close-up


View through the scope. Factory sighted-in at FN for 50M using SS195LF.


View through the back-up iron sights. These are fixed, and are fairly close to POA/POI at 25 yards.


View through the scope in low-light (tritium night sights)


Top-down view of the mag well.


Reciever Left-side


Reciever Right-side


Reciever Front view


Reciever Bottom


Reciever Front-Left


Breech


Mag Catch


Trigger/Safety.


Stock Front


Stock Rear with Buttplate removed


Stock Rear close-up


Breech (with bolt held open by dust cover)


Ejection Port view


Magazines. 150-rounds is Henrietta's typical loadout. 2 magazines in her violin case, and one on the gun.


FN SS195LF Rounds


9x19mm vs 5.7x28mm FN. Speer Gold Dot Short Barrel 124gr +P on left. FN SS195LF 27gr HP on right.


Bolt Assembly, Right


Bolt Face


Bolt Face, close-up


Bolt Assembly, Left


Bolt Assembly, Rear


Bolt Assembly, Bottom


Trigger Pack, Front-Right


Trigger Pack, Top


Trigger Pack, Front, Shell Deflector. Note the damage done by spent cases being forcefully ejected into this part.


Trigger Pack, Rear


Last edited by Darkstar117 on Fri 24 Sep 2010 - 17:01; edited 4 times in total (Reason for editing : Spelling & Add Pics)
avatar
Darkstar117

Male

Forum Posts : 72

Location : Las Vegas, NV

Comments : King of Golf Ramp, Kandahar Airbase, Afghanistan.

Registration date : 2010-09-23

Back to top Go down

Re: FN PS90 Photo Review (Pic Heavy)

Post by MP5 on Fri 24 Sep 2010 - 14:58

Oh man, that's tasty. Would you recommend it for a first gun, though?

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


I aim to misbehave.



avatar
MP5

Male

Forum Posts : 1767

Location : Phoenixville, PA

Fan of : Sandro/Petra Fratello *dodges bullets*; Michael and Jamie Christiansen

Original Characters : Allison-Brian McDonnell Fratello

Comments : You gotta ask the cutie before you touch dat booty.

Registration date : 2010-02-01

Back to top Go down

Re: FN PS90 Photo Review (Pic Heavy)

Post by Darkstar117 on Fri 24 Sep 2010 - 15:42

Yes, costs & ammunition availability aside.

It's compact, lightweight (even with a fully loaded 50-rd mag), has ambidextrious controls, soft percieved recoil, and is easily dissassembled & cleaned.

My only gripe is the trigger is horrible, but that is a very common issue with most bullpup rifles.
avatar
Darkstar117

Male

Forum Posts : 72

Location : Las Vegas, NV

Comments : King of Golf Ramp, Kandahar Airbase, Afghanistan.

Registration date : 2010-09-23

Back to top Go down

Re: FN PS90 Photo Review (Pic Heavy)

Post by Kiskaloo on Fri 24 Sep 2010 - 19:10

I've been toying with the idea of getting a Five-seveN, a PS90 and an FS2000, however I have not shot the weapons I do own (HK93, HK VP70Z, Benelli M4, Beretta Cheetah) in forever (I take them out only to clean), so dropping a few grand to own one of my OC's arsenals just to keep in a gun safe seems kinda silly.

But it looks very nice, I must say.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


What? I like donuts! - Betty Suarez
If I die before my time, go on Oprah and tell the world 'I liked kittens'. - Veronica Mars
Scissors of victory! - Yui Hirasawa
avatar
Kiskaloo
A Cat of Many Talents

Male

Forum Posts : 10889

Location : Seattle / Tokyo / Milan

Fan of : Angelica's Smile

Original Characters : Kara Michelle

Comments : The community's international man of mystery.

Registration date : 2008-09-11

Back to top Go down

Re: FN PS90 Photo Review (Pic Heavy)

Post by Alfisti on Sat 25 Sep 2010 - 8:17

Nice man... being from gun-shy Australia, getting to see the inner workings of stuff like this is a bit of a treat.

@Kiskaloo wrote:I've been toying with the idea of getting a Five-seveN, a PS90 and an FS2000, however I have not shot the weapons I do own (HK93, HK VP70Z, Benelli M4, Beretta Cheetah) in forever (I take them out only to clean), so dropping a few grand to own one of my OC's arsenals just to keep in a gun safe seems kinda silly.
The urge to buy some of the stuff your own OCs use is a feeling I'm familiar with... but yeah, at the end of the day it'd just sit there and never get used.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Your lack of planning does not constitute my emergency.
avatar
Alfisti

Male

Forum Posts : 5739

Location : A Town by the Sea, NSW Central Coast, Australia

Fan of : Triela, Hilshire, Priscilla, Ferro

Original Characters : Jethro + Monty

Comments : If in doubt, overdress.

Registration date : 2009-07-21

Back to top Go down

Re: FN PS90 Photo Review (Pic Heavy)

Post by Plaxy on Sat 25 Sep 2010 - 12:51

Would love to own one but live in the US And Full Automatics are a No-No. You can legally own most Hand-Guns, Rifles, and Shot-guns. But the really looks down on Semi- and Full automatic armaments at least for civilians.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


ENTP - "Inventor". Enthusiastic interest in everything and always sensitive to possibilities. Non-conformist and innovative. 3.2% of the total population
favored careers:dictator, international spy, fighter pilot, politician, diplomat, strategist, airline pilot, private detective, mechanical engineer, ambassador, fbi agent, cia agent, electrical engineer, assassin
avatar
Plaxy

Male

Forum Posts : 83

Location : Where ever life leads me

Fan of : Henrietta

Original Characters : Soliel(so-lè)

Comments : I've only killed 4....I killed 10 enemies last month... please doctor don't take me off duty.

Registration date : 2010-09-20

Back to top Go down

Re: FN PS90 Photo Review (Pic Heavy)

Post by funkmachine on Mon 4 Oct 2010 - 13:39

no you U.S. based people have it easy with Automatics.
look over to the uk,basicy just shotguns and rifles, hell even are Olympic team must go to Switzerland to train because their events are considered illegal in the UK No Good

funkmachine

Male

Forum Posts : 94

Registration date : 2009-09-26

Back to top Go down

Re: FN PS90 Photo Review (Pic Heavy)

Post by maverick375 on Mon 4 Oct 2010 - 20:29

Would love to own one but live in the US And Full Automatics are aNo-No. You can legally own most Hand-Guns, Rifles, and Shot-guns. Butthe really looks down on Semi- and Full automatic armaments at leastfor civilians.

With Semi-autos, it depends on the state. Public opinion of the so-called semi-auto 'assault' rifle is changing slowly. The idea is a misnomer anyway: a semi-auto rifle is by definition not an assault rifle. Once that is accepted as the reality it is, you see that an AR-15 or semi-auto AK is no different than a Marlin Model 60 plinker. Maybe it looks scary, but it's not an instrument of DOOOOOOM!!!

The largest problem with the full-auto stuff in the US is the closed registry. You can't buy a full-auto and put it onto the registry, so the supply is essentially limited to what is out there now, which keeps the price high. The people who dropped the dime on such toys don't want to see the registry opened, as their investment will fall out the bottom.

Where the closed registry really sucks ass is with the war bring-backs that the passing veterans are leaving behind for their kids to find in the attic. Read a posting once from someone who found an STG-44 in grandpa's attic after he died. He traipsed through hell to win and brought back a trophy, but because it had no papers, it had to be destroyed or given to a museum (in demilitarized state), as being in possession of a class 3 weapon is a serious felony (getting you more time than murder), and there is no way a commoner can put such an item on the registry. It's a stupid rule and results in the destruction of history and family heirlooms.

Personally, I feel there isn't much you can't do with a semi-auto that can be done with a full. You just don't waste ammo as fast, and are more likely to hit your target.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Glocks are not the shit. Glocks can fail the same as any other gun. I've seen it personally, and have even heard first-hand accounts of something as basic as a slide-retaining pin snapping, the slide flying off. Get over the obsession and buy what fits your hand, your wallet, and ability.
avatar
maverick375

Male

Forum Posts : 823

Location : Ohio

Fan of : manga

Original Characters : Jamie

Comments : GUNS!!!! MUWAHAHA

Oh, and swords. Swords are kewl too.

Registration date : 2009-03-20

Back to top Go down

Re: FN PS90 Photo Review (Pic Heavy)

Post by zarien85 on Wed 6 Oct 2010 - 22:35

thats so cool

zarien85

Male

Forum Posts : 113

Location : usa

Fan of : all of them

Original Characters : Cat Jade

Registration date : 2010-08-04

Back to top Go down

Re: FN PS90 Photo Review (Pic Heavy)

Post by Guest on Sun 10 Oct 2010 - 19:09

That is indeed awesome, I kinda dig the OD stock more than black, cool contrast with the receiver.

Guest
Guest


Back to top Go down

Re: FN PS90 Photo Review (Pic Heavy)

Post by 124C41 on Wed 19 Jan 2011 - 15:23

You still around Darkstar? *pokes with stick* Nice pics.

In the US the price of the PS90 has come back down a little, I've seen them for ~ $1300 on store shelves. The 5.7 round may not be super cheap but it's fairly easy to find. Black PS90s are easy to find these days.

What I'm tryin to say is ... Go buy one! Smile I hope for the success of the PS90 line here in the states, now and many years to come.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


avatar
124C41

Male

Forum Posts : 50

Location : Texas

Fan of : Battle Angel

Comments : Being a grownup doesn't mean I gave up Anime, it means part of my collection is on VHS.

Registration date : 2011-01-04

Back to top Go down

Re: FN PS90 Photo Review (Pic Heavy)

Post by maverick375 on Wed 19 Jan 2011 - 17:41

Go buy one before they stick the 10round magazine ban back in place. A P90 with a 10 round mag would look really dumb

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Glocks are not the shit. Glocks can fail the same as any other gun. I've seen it personally, and have even heard first-hand accounts of something as basic as a slide-retaining pin snapping, the slide flying off. Get over the obsession and buy what fits your hand, your wallet, and ability.
avatar
maverick375

Male

Forum Posts : 823

Location : Ohio

Fan of : manga

Original Characters : Jamie

Comments : GUNS!!!! MUWAHAHA

Oh, and swords. Swords are kewl too.

Registration date : 2009-03-20

Back to top Go down

Re: FN PS90 Photo Review (Pic Heavy)

Post by Kiskaloo on Wed 19 Jan 2011 - 18:27

Or just buy the mags now.

I've played with the idea of getting a P90 and F2000, but I really don't need any more guns since the ones I have are never fired.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


What? I like donuts! - Betty Suarez
If I die before my time, go on Oprah and tell the world 'I liked kittens'. - Veronica Mars
Scissors of victory! - Yui Hirasawa
avatar
Kiskaloo
A Cat of Many Talents

Male

Forum Posts : 10889

Location : Seattle / Tokyo / Milan

Fan of : Angelica's Smile

Original Characters : Kara Michelle

Comments : The community's international man of mystery.

Registration date : 2008-09-11

Back to top Go down

Re: FN PS90 Photo Review (Pic Heavy)

Post by 124C41 on Thu 20 Jan 2011 - 8:09

I will be sending you "friendly persuasion" vibes. ~:3~

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


avatar
124C41

Male

Forum Posts : 50

Location : Texas

Fan of : Battle Angel

Comments : Being a grownup doesn't mean I gave up Anime, it means part of my collection is on VHS.

Registration date : 2011-01-04

Back to top Go down

Re: FN PS90 Photo Review (Pic Heavy)

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum