A GSG Review I Found...

View previous topic View next topic Go down

A GSG Review I Found...

Post by Triela on Mon 15 Feb 2016 - 23:55

I was browsing through Tumblr and I saw that someone had recently reviewed my favorite anime and gave it a 1 out of 5. They call it a "feminist" review. Curious I read the review, I love reading any review of this series. It is anything but a feminist review, this was a feminazi review. What I read shocked me and had me laughing at the absurdity of it all. 

Apparently Gunslinger Girl was ruined by the male gaze and is nothing but a lolicon anime. Ummmm I don't know if this person has ever seen a show MEANT to be a creepy lolicon show or if this person saw GSG and just assumed that's all lolicon is... A show with young girls as main characters. Apparently rape can never be used to form a tragic backstory ever now. Now Henrietta is being "objectified" because while she's shooting her P-90 in episode one, there's a shot of her legs. SO SCANDALOUS!!! The reviewer said that it was creepy that the show is emphasizing how young and small they are. Ummm it IS meant to show how small they are because they're little girls who were reborn as cyborgs, not for men to ogle their feet that barely touch the ground. -_- Apparently Henrietta getting up after crouching to advance into the room is explicitly sexual. Riiiiight... NO I could go on and on about how WRONG this person is. Tumblr has feminists (me) and then there are "feminists" (her). 

Here's the full review for a good laugh: http://thelilinblog.tumblr.com/post/139363223268/gunslinger-girl-tenkū-no-escaflowne-madhouse

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


  AWWWWW YEAHHHH
avatar
Triela
Super Special Awesome Cyborg Assassin

Female

Forum Posts : 2723

Location : In Steve's arms >:3

Fan of : Triela

Original Characters : Savyna

Comments : A pleasant, bubbly young lady, talented artist and Orlando Bloom fan extraordinaire.

Registration date : 2007-12-15

Back to top Go down

Re: A GSG Review I Found...

Post by FireTrooper113 on Tue 16 Feb 2016 - 11:50

Couldn't get halfway through the first paragraph before my eyes crossed.
avatar
FireTrooper113

Male

Forum Posts : 87

Location : Behind you, don't turn around.

Fan of : The original five cyborgs and their handlers.

Original Characters : Not something I'm interested in, at least for now.

Comments : Most like to see things in black and white, I see them in gray. ....Pink would be nice, or red, hell let's throw some green in there too.

Registration date : 2014-12-14

Back to top Go down

Re: A GSG Review I Found...

Post by Thescarredman on Tue 16 Feb 2016 - 14:51

Reminds me of a review I once read about Heinlein's "Starship Troopers' (the excellent book, not the lame series of movies) where the critic ranted endlessly about the essential wrongness of books that glorify war and militarism in general (if you've never read it, 'Starship Troopers' is a lot of things, but it isn't a novel that glorifies war.). When he started referring to Heinlein's Mobile Infantrymen as 'swaggering leather boys', I knew the putz was reviewing a book he'd never read.
avatar
Thescarredman

Male

Forum Posts : 1834

Location : Toledo, Ohio, United States

Fan of : Rico, Bice

Original Characters : Kristal & Verotrois / Doc; Angel / Jack Keaton; Tiffany/Stefan

Comments : .
Mario Bossi would make a better handler than Marco Toni. Come to think of it, so would Christiano.
.
Elizaveta didn't jump - she was pushed.
.
Sofia was pregnant. It would have been a boy.

Registration date : 2012-02-04
Your character
OC genger: 40

Back to top Go down

Re: A GSG Review I Found...

Post by PSVT on Tue 16 Feb 2016 - 21:00

I skimmed through the post , and even then it was pretty damned obvious that the person hadn't really watched the show, even despite her admission of not going past three episodes near the end of her diatribe. For that much I certainly wouldn't consider it a review. More of an ill-informed rant about something that has little to do with the actual show. So... Go figure Hopefully people who see that non-review recognize it for what it is, but I doubt it will change by much the opinions of those people interested in the show and those who aren't, especially when there are many more unbiased reviews from people who actually bothered to watch the show out there.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------


The perfect might be the enemy of the good. Then again, so is the mediocre.
avatar
PSVT

Male

Forum Posts : 497

Location : Pennsylvania, United States

Fan of : Triela, Claes

Original Characters : Giancarlo Rossi and his cyborgs Valentina R. and Eleonora R.; James Bernard and his cyborg Rachelle

Comments : Working on an actual story now, so please be patient... ^_^;

Registration date : 2014-05-27
Your character
OC genger: 40

Back to top Go down

Re: A GSG Review I Found...

Post by Sponsored content


Sponsored content


Back to top Go down

View previous topic View next topic Back to top


 
Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum